Reveal Help Center

Managing Users

Once the project is created, Users must be added, at least one Administrator to start.

This can be done in the Company Admin section of the Reveal web interface under Users or Projects, or in Reveal Review Manager by expanding the Project Setup Pane and choosing the Users link. The Users window appears in the work area.

The two tab options are to list Users by Case or Cases by User. Use the latter to quickly see all projects in which a user is active. Here is an example of Users by Case, a list of users in a populated project:

603d07f5dff73.png
  • User Name is the unique Reveal user identifier.

  • First Name, Last Name and Email Address personally identify the user.

  • Two Factor indicates whether the account was set up requiring two factor authentication.

  • Delete would remove the Reveal user from this project, NOT from Reveal.

  • Authentication is where a user's password or two factor authentication settings may be changed or reset.

    User_Authentication_settings.png
  • Enabled user accounts may work in any Reveal project in the instance; if unchecked, the user cannot participate in any project.

  • Group is the user's initially-assigned Role Group in the project.

Adding Users

The Users work area will be empty for a new project. At least one user - an Administrator - must be added to start a project. See below, or Adding Existing Users to a Case for further detail.

  • Click Add to assign one or more users to the project.

    Add_User_to_Project.png
  • Check any or all users to be assigned to the case.

    • If the user you wish to add is not already present in Reveal, you may click Create New in the Users List box.

    • You may use the Filter at the top of any column to cull or search the list.

    • When selection is complete, click Add.

  • The selected user or users will appear in the work area Users table for the project.

    Add_User_to_Project_Group.png
  • Under Group use the dropdown menu to select the role group to which the user will be assigned for this project.

  • At least one user must be assigned to the Administrators role group to manage the project.

Deleting Users from a Project

To remove a Reveal user from a project, click Delete in that user's entry in the Users table. The user account will be removed from the project. This will also remove user history and records of artifact ownership in the project. An inventory of the user's work product should be done before deleting a user from a project.

Disabling a User Account

Unchecking Enabled in the Users table will prevent the user from logging into Reveal or participating in any project. The user account will remain in place in each project to which the user had been assigned, and so its history and artifact ownership would remain intact for each such project. See also Disabling and Deleting Users for more detail.

Adding Existing Users to a Case
  1. From the Project Setup pane, choose the Users link to display the Users tab.

  2. On the Users by Case tab, select the desired case in the dropdown menu if it is not already selected.

  3. Choose Add to add users to the case. The User List appears.

    RRM_User_List.png
  4. Add any existing users from the list by placing a check mark next to their name.

  5. Use the filter boxes to identify groups of users to add multiple users at once.

  6. Choose Add to complete the process.

  7. Use the Create New button to create any new users if needed. For details see Creating New Users.

  8. Once the users have been added, you are returned to the main User screen and the Users are shown in the list for the case.

  9. In the window, use the Group dropdown menu to select which role group each user should be assigned to.

    Add_User_to_Project_Role_Group.png
Creating New Users
  1. From the Project Setup pane, choose Users to display the Users tab.

  2. Choose Add to add users to the case. The User List appears.

  3. Select any existing users from the list by placing a check mark next to their name.

  4. Use the Create New button to create any new users if needed.

  5. In the Create a new User ID window, enter the proposed User Name and select Check ID to make sure that ID is not already taken. If the User ID is available, then the rest of the fields become active, allowing you to complete the creation process.

  6. Fill in the required fields that are marked with a red asterisk.

  7. Choose Create to complete the process.

    Create_User_ID_RRM.png
Disabling Users

When viewing the users attached to a case, you have the ability deselect the Enabled checkbox which will disable a user.

Note

This action will disable the user for all the cases to which that person is assigned in the current Reveal instance.

If you wish to keep a user active but remove this user from a specific case, use the Delete option to remove the user from the specific case instead. The Delete function removes a user ONLY from the specific case selected, not from the entire system.

If you would like to retain the user's actions and audit history, but do not want this user to be active in the case any longer, then remove the user from any group roles and teams so that this individual will not be able to log in to the database.

Deleting Users from the Reveal Review Manager

Deleting users from the Reveal Review Manager should not be done without careful consideration. Totally removing users also removes the ability to audit their actions and track their work product in the database prior to removal. Deleting users is a task that is performed by the Reveal administrative team. If you have users who have never logged in to a case or a specific reason for deleting a user, please contact Reveal support to make a deletion request.